WorkWith Denim Jeans: Denim Choker

Backstory: So, I was watching one of my favorite Youtube vloggers known as Jamie and Nikki and she was wearing this denim choker that she made herself. As I scrolled through the comments ( because I just have this bad habit of doing so), I noticed that there was interest in the choker and how it was made. Unfortunately, I do not know how she did her’s and mine did not quite turn out as…fashionable, but I wanted to give it a try and show you guys here how I decided to workwithit.

What I Used:

An Old Pair of Denim Pants

Scissors

Optional: Hot glue gun/button

How It’s Done

Step 1) Take your pair of pants and cut ( all the way around) off the part where your belt would go. You should just have the very top of your jeans now * You can also cut the belt loops here ( I did) but it really just depends on the look you are going for.

Step 2) Take the time to clean up the seams/your cutting job 🙂

img_1343

Step 3) Wrap the piece around your neck to gauge how much in terms of vertical length you need to cut off. Now, here’s what is important: My jeans had a small button on the inside of the belt part so I did not need to add a button BUT if your jeans do not, then all you need to do is glue a button on the outside end of your choker. You will then see how much on the other side that you need to cut off!

img_1347

Step 4) Poke a hole at the opposite end of your button that will your button can go through. This is how you will get the choker on and off. *Before you do the hole for the button, wrap the choker around your neck and make a mark if necessary so you will know where to put your hole for your button. It’s a choker…it’s not meant to choke you but it’s also not meant to be a necklace that dangles.

And wala: There you have it!

Personally, I feel that my short neck just do chokers any justice and preference wise, I just do not wear them but seriously, this was a fun craft that really can go in so many directions depending on what your jeans look like ( black, dark blue, prints,  etc etc).

Until next time, 

 

 

One thought on “WorkWith Denim Jeans: Denim Choker

Leave a Reply

