WorkWith Fake Flowers: Flower Canvas Wall-Art

Backstory: So, I had originally planned to post a different craft today, specifically how to make this bow garland, but after reverting it back to a draft, the whole thing was questionably deleted so I have to rewrite that post again. That being said, I’ve been wanting to do this idea for quite some time but I just have not been able to get my hands on fake flowers. I have thought about it as I looked at them in the store but I was just being too cheap to buy anything other than the food that I actually needed. However, I have so many canvas boards that I just decided to take one and use a real flower for the time being just to convey my idea here and to show you how to workwith a blank canvas and flowers to create something that is simply lovely; in my opinion at least.

What I Used:

Fake Flowers ( As many or little as you’d like: honestly on a bigger scale, I am sure this could be very pretty to add a whole plethora of flowers onto a canvas)

Hot Glue Gun

Canvas Board ( I used an 8×10 board)

Watercolor Paint

How It’s Done:

Step 1) Take your canvas and paint it to your likings ( you can adjust it) after you have glued the flower but it is best to do it before hand

img_1640

Step 2) Glue your flower in the way that you want to onto the canvas. * Now I used a real flower for this which looked nice but was not lasting. If you want it to last, definitely stick with the fake flower or else, it will just fall a part.

Step 3) Do any finishing touches of paint/additions to your canvas ( lettering, more paint, etc).

Step 4) You can either get custom framing, wire the canvas as is to be placed on your wall or glue your canvas into the backing of a 8×10 frame so that you may put it onto your wall like so.

img_1662

And you are done!

I really wish I could have saved this piece because I was surprised with how well it turned out. Funny thing is, my roommate had these fake flowers in the living room that had been sitting in a vase forever and I was seriously debating on whether I should just use those ( just one strand) for this project but I just never got around to doing so. As for next time, I think that I will just head to the dollar store to pick up a few just to make things easier.

Until next time, remember that what you have does not determine where you will go, what you think does.

Leave a Reply

