WorkWith 8×10 Canvas Board: Simple Butterfly Pencil Pouch

Good Sunday & Happy Mother’s Day ♥

Backstory: I have had these 8×10 blank art canvases in my craft drawer for months now but I am just not really much of a painter to use them for that purpose, that is. However, I knew that I wanted to workwith the canvas part of it and what I came up with is what I am sharing with you today.

What I Used:

1 8×10 Canvas Board

Ribbon of choice

Paint + Stamp ( You can choose what decorative material you’d like for your pouch)

Stapler + staples

Hot Glue Gun

How It’s Done:

Step 1) Take the canvas off of the frame. * The canvas I had, had staples in the back and I just tore the canvas from the staples with scissors. Make sure you keep the wooden frame because you never know when it might come in dandy

Step 2) Cut off the ragged sides of your canvas and fold horizontally to create a pouch like shape.

Step 3) Take the time to decorate your canvas now. * I will say that this step can be done before step 1 if you’d like, I just chose to do it at a later time

Step 4) Fold in the left and right sides and staple so that the canvas pouch will remain it’s shape. * It is my suggestion that you fold in the sides with the staples inward and glue the sides down to the back so that the staples do not show but it is certainly up to you.

IMG_2745

 

Step 5) Glue your ribbon onto the top of your pouch (the front side-only)

IMG_2753

Step 6) Add on any decorative material ( optional)

IMG_2755

You Are Done!

IMG_2757IMG_2749Sure, it may not be much but it’s something more than what it was. What I love about this project is that the outcome can be as unique as is the individual; you can use stamps, lettering, stencils, acrylic paint, watercolors ( I used), pop art, impressionism and so much more for your pouch. I just did what was simple to share but in my mind, I am just thinking about how many directions I could have went in, in terms of design.

♥ Workwithit: Make It Yours, Make It Work ♥

Leave a Reply

