WorkWithIt Takeitback Wednesday: Failed Projects!

Good Morning You Guys!

For today’s edition of “Takeitback” Wednesday, I wanted to share with you guys some of the ideas/projects that I have started in the past that just did not turn out well at all. The reason why I wanted to share some of them is because sharing even the imperfect embodies one of the values of WorkWithIt: creation prevails over perfection. We are not about perfect execution & perfect outcomes here; it is more important to create anything /something than to do nothing because we feel that we do not/can not meet the requirements ( in the things that we have, how we might complete a project, etc). So, here are four projects that were better off in my mind:

IMG_2452

This is what started to be Red Velvet Hot Cocoa Pancakes and turned out to be bland and soggy-like strips of pancake batter all over the place. I had ( and still do) have a sizeable mix of Red Velvet Hot Cocoa Mix so I thought that I would add some of the powder mix into my pancake mix to create these “awesome” pancakes. Little did I know how little pronounced the red velvet flavoring would be; as if. I think I tried to convince myself that it was there (the taste) but boy, it was nothing special and needless to say, this is the only picture I have left from that mistake of a project ;p.

IMG_2929

Can you see the packaging print behind the green paint ? I sure can! That is not even where this project started to go wrong. I had previously kept trying to wrap the bucket with gift wrapped paper but it did not dawn on me until later on in the project that because the bucket width changed as it went to the bottom ( wider on top, narrower on bottom), that’s why the paper was not wrapping properly. After an accumlated frustration, I just decided to paint the bucket but because I was so impatient and did not do any other layers, you can see the packaging information! -sighs-

IMG_3019

Does this picture look nice ? I think it does but that’s the beauty of the picture, not the bucket. And no, this is not the same bucket as the one above. I had attempted to redo the green/Christmas bucket but again, I was not patience and it took a turn for the worst! First, I kept laying wet paint on top of wet paint and no WONDER the white streaks kept on being visible. Then being sooo impatient about it, I just tried to stick on those red bows with TAPE on wet PAINT….and one fell off one by one by one by one…that alone made me frustrated. And let’s not get started on the MESS with the glitter that I made; everywhere..anywhere…glitter is forever! All I have to say is that I am glad I could take a reasonable picture but I am so, going to have to do try again.

I am quite mixed on this project but I am going to lean on this project being a failed project..this Cotton Candy Head…beehive Cone -swallows-. At first, I had painted the cone pink but it did not look too good ( the design of the actual cone was transparent under the paint) so I decided to take some tulle that I had, and to wrap it around the cone…creating this. The more I wrapped, the more “crazay” this cone started to seem in my head. Perhaps, I just need a second opinion, cute or just as wild as I thought it to be ?

That wraps up my four failed projects but believe me that I have had many more. Admittedly, sometimes I am disappointed that my ideas turn out to be disasters but we are not defeated when we fail but when we decide to give up and not try again. My encouragement to you is to keep trying & to keep working with what you can because that’s what progression ( not perfection) is about.

Do you have any crazy ideas/projects that you tried but did not turn out well ? Share in the comment section below!

WorkWithIt: Dont be discouraged when you fail, be informed and be motivated when you do ♥

5 thoughts on “WorkWithIt Takeitback Wednesday: Failed Projects!

  1. Espirational says:

    Glad I’m not the only one with these types of projects 🙂 I always say nothing is a failure if you learn something from it — even if it’s only that you don’t want to try that again. There can also be “happy accidents” where what you end up with is different, but acually better than what you planned. Gotta love those

    Liked by 1 person

    • workwithithere says:

      Truly, I have one of those good accidents every now and then; I’ll start working on a craft project and it does not turn out to be what I had in mind but something better. On another note, I like that, even if you learn not to try it again, at least you tried and learned something. You are certainly not alone as you can see *ha*.

      Have a wonderful day & thank you for commenting!
      ~ Bree

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

